• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

T/C Hawken ball and patch

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

westrayer

32 Cal
Reaction score
I started shooting an older T/C Hawken in .50 cal.
What do you like so far are RB and patch combo? Came with .495" balls but even a .015" patch seems really tight

First time I tried out my Pa. Hunter I used this - .490 - .018 blue ticking - and mink tallow lube. Took a mallet to get it seated.
Switched to .010 ticking and I could load better.
T/C are kinda known to have tight bores.
First time out with my Kibler .50 I used a 490 - red ticking at .015 and spit. Worked perfect.

You could try .010 patching. And you could get the bore "fixed" by Bobby Hoyt - do a search of his name here. He did my New Englander and now it loads and shoots. 2 cents worth.

Sadly I still have a whole box of the .495" RC plus a partial.
In the past trials with a .010" patch have found that they don't hold up. But patches are cheaper than balls.