• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

source for pure lead

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Ask your dentist!! I am a practicing dentist and for the last 25 years I have kept myself and a couple of friends adequately supplied with pure lead for our casting needs in the form of waste lead foil from intraoral X-rays. Every small X-ray film packet contains a piece of thin lead foil within the wrapper that is normally discarded as trash during the X-ray developing. This material accumulates very rapidly if it is saved separately from the rest of the wrapper trash. It is not unusual for my small office to generate 15-25 lbs of waste lead each year this way. Because of hazardous waste disposal restrictions in some localities, many dental offices separate these and dispose of them at their own expense. They would love for you to take it off their hands for them. Many offices are switching to digital X-rays, which cuts down on the volume of this kind of waste, but nonetheless many conventionally developed x-rays are still taken.

This is nearly 100% pure lead, easily scratched with your fingernail. It generates practically no slag when melted. You may want to harden it somewhat with plumbers tin for minies or cast slugs (add 5-10% Sn by weight). For you fly-tyers out there, the foil also works good for tying sinking flies.