• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Smoothbore gurus.......I need a little help with a roundball load

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Total newbie to smoothbore roundball shooting!! I have only used shot on squirrels to this point but really want to use it for deer. I started with 70 grains of 2f, two thin cards, bare ball, and 2 more thin cards at 25 yards from a rest. Complete miss. I tried again thinking that I may have moved but same result. I then tried the same powder charge with a bear grease lubed patched roundball. Directly in line vertically but about 6" low. I tried two more times and got all three balls to touch but they are about 6" low. Time ran out and I had to stop for the day. I feel good about the shots touching and I think that I am onto something but would like to hear what an experienced roundball shooter's next steps would be. Take a fuller sight picture with the front sights? Im sighting down the flat of the octagon part of the barrel and can see the whole front sight. I am then putting the bullseye on top of the post. Heavier charge? Will a heavier charge will bring impact up enough to get a reliable shot out to 50 yds or more? Not try