• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Patch analysis please

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dallas10c

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I am still new to BP and spent the morning with my sons at the range. I was bale to recover 4 of my patches and am asking for some help with the analysis of the patches. The photo and details of what I was shooting are on my website.
[url] http://nepaoutdoors.com/shooting.htm[/url]

Thanks...Bob

Last edited by a moderator:
Recon said:
I am still new to BP and spent the morning with my sons at the range. I was bale to recover 4 of my patches and am asking for some help with the analysis of the patches. The photo and details of what I was shooting are on my website.[url] http://nepaoutdoors.com/shooting.htm[/url]
Thanks...Bob
In my opinion, .010" patches are almost always too thin to survive the fire, and they don't hold much lube.

I'd suggest moving up to at least .015", or better yet, .018" pillow ticking...and in either case, make sure the patches are well lubed.

There are Oxyoke .015" prelubed patches in .50cal with .490 ball and 50grns Goex 3F.
1594484IMG0401800Pixels.JPG

Last edited by a moderator: