• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

New To Muzzleloaders, Not to Firearms

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Josh Smith

45 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello,

I started shooting with a .22LR, don't remember when. I then progressed through shotguns, rifles, and handguns. I am my own gunsmith and built the 1911 I carry for personal protection.

I reload .45acp, and may get into some rifle calibers as well. We'll see.

I'm a freak when it comes to terminal ballistics, having attended autopsies, read about the ones I've not attended, and am always trying new bullets on different things.

I was out trading the other day, just because I was bored. I found a CVA Bobcat in good condition, and traded even up for that rifle and stuff to start muzzleloading.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get real powder, just Shockey's Gold sticks, but I've had very good luck with them if I seat the ball hard, or tamp the stick down into powder, or both. I've not had incomplete combustion yet. All shots feel the same.