• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Loading a .58 Scottish Highland Flintlock Pistol

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have no experience with BP smoothbores. Well, I have had for years a repro .58 Scottish Highlander pistol, brass stocked, one of those "end of the age" throwbacks - not like the beautiful Pitcairn pistols. Tried it once, years ago, with PRB, couldn't hit a thing. Have used it mostly on New Year's Eve, with lots of powder and a newsprint wad.

Am wanting to try it again. Is PRB the way to go, or should I use over powder wads, over ball wads, tow,????

The stock is too small and short for any kind of comfortable hold. I always thought it would make a better club than sidearm.

Just curious.

Using it as a club after it is shot is exactly what it was designed for.

IMO, don't go to any expense like buying a bunch of wads. Just shoot a patched ball and have fun.

With a smoothbore, the ball/patch combination doesn't have to be very tight. Just enough to hold the ball in place.

I also wouldn't get carried away with the powder loads either. Anything from 20-30 grains will be enough for killin' a punkin or a can. :)