• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Does the breech plug really come off?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Forgive this naive question, I'm very new to this.

I'm beginning building a Chambers PA Fowler kit. Step 1 is to remove the breech plug to inlet the barrel. But to my eye, the tang looks like one continuous piece of the barrel. I don't see any indication that it could be removed. Is it just that nice of a fit?

It comes out, if the breech plug fit is very good it won't look like there is a seam between the breech plug and tang but there is.

If you turn the barrel upside down and look at the tang/barrel joint there will be a what we call a witness mark slash that has been stamped into the barrel and tang that you line up when you tighten the plug to have the barrel flats line up perfectly with the tang.

The tang is out of this barrel but this witness mark will extend into the tang.

100_7812.JPG