• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.50 or .54 for elk?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elkonastick

Pilgrim
Reaction score
My dad and myself are going to hunt elk with muzzle loaders next year. We are buying Hawken percusion rifles but are not sure which caliber to buy. We want to use Maxi-Balls or maybe another conical lead bellet. My hunting buddy uses a .50 and says it will smack an elk dead. Although I
confused.gif
've been shooting all my life I'm a newbie to the muzzle loader. We will probably also use them for deer at some point. I'd rather be over gunned for deer than under gunned for elk. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Thanks

Elkonastick, welcome to the forum. As far as your question, .50 cal PRB will take down anything in North America, so it's going to boil down to personal prefference. Getting hit with a .50 PRB is like getting hit with a 10 lb. sledge at full swing in the chest, it's going to take it down. You are talking using conicals so that is even heavier. Good luck on your decision. Take care, Rick.

Just a side question for the Forum, but do any states not allow conicals for elk? I hear more and more states are making hunters use more primative guns and sights.

This is just my opnion so take it for what it's worth:
First, I would recommend the PRB over a conical because it's higher velocity will produce a flatter trajectory out to about 110 yards making the aim point less distance sensitive and the "shock value" to the game higher than a conical.