• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Misfires

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JesseJames

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I was talking to a friend of mind he said that he went to his cabin and his boys were shooting their flints (traditions deerhunter). He said that they were haveing a few misfires. He was shooting his a new rmcs flint and had no problem. Any advise as to cure the situation.

I'm a newbie to rock locks, but I've learned from some people that really know the mechanics involved in getting the things to work.
There are many things that can contribute to flinter misfires.
Dull flint.
Weak lock (springs).
Soft frizzen.
Flash hole (vent) not clear.
Over or under filling the pan with prime powder.
Flint off center, that is not properly positioned in the jaws, and many more I can't think of.
I'm sure someone with greater experience can think of more ills and cures.

More missfire causes - poor hardening of the frizzen - you didn't say anything about sparking ability of the locks used. Another is the sparks aren't hitting the pan - fixed by adjustment such as the turning over of the flint can make a big difference, as well as extending the flint from the jaws, or pushing it further into the jaws.