• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

how accurate can a smoothbore be?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

that about asks it all

i have no experience with a smoothbore, but am thinking of building one.

the question becomes one of accuracy, just how good or bad are they? or can they be? on average?

i am kinda thinking about carbine length in the 9mm bore size, mainly because i got 1000's of hard cast 9mm projectiles at my disposal and i could use a squirrel/rabbit gun.

it seems to me my limit might be 25 yds maximum, maybe a touch over, but likely ~15 yd shots.

can a small smooth bore short barrel be effective enough to hit a squirrel or rabbit at this distance?

whats the consensus here?

thanks
bob g