• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Wierd Fouling in New Englander

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sundog

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I have been cleaning my BP rifles for many years, usually water with a we bit of detergent does the trick, Every so often I will use Bore Shine too. I am not a novice.
Last Sunday I went to a gun show and low and behold there was a TC New Englander for $200 bucks.
Looked Great, well the darn thing started singing to me , calling my name, ah you know how it is. I looked it over real good, dropped my bore light down the barrel and the bore looked pritty good, no pits anyway but it did have long streaks in it.
I figured as long as there were no pits and no evidence of corrosion that it would clean right up to a mirror finish with a wee bit of elbow grease.
So it followed me home and I almost sneaked it past SWMBO. So close but I got caught. "Not another rifle !" she said. "Oh no honey its a shotgun" says I. My love responded with a "Hummmm" which sounded kinda like a growl.
Ok so its home and I try to clean it in the usual way warm water and a drop of dawn detergent.