• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

what size ball to use (exactly)

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andy2175m4

32 Cal
Reaction score
Black powder (and casting) newbie here (old time centerfire reloader though) I just removed the cylinder from my New 1860 Uberti Army pistol and checked all 6 chambers with a caliper,

0.450" x 6

what size ball should I use to get a good swage on the cylinders ? I see many ball molds at .450 and I see Hornady selling ready made balls at .457

what is the best diameter to use ? I'd like to get a ball mold slightly over .45 and make my own, but dont see any

what do you recommend ?

I use nothing but .454 balls in all of my 44 caliber Uberti's and Pietta's. Tried .457's once but they seat too hard. Get a good shave of lead off of .454's. Back in the day (early 70's-mid 80's) .451's were the norm but get a better seal and lead shave with .454's. Some say they get some ball creep with .451's in modern made today cappers.

I tend to think that a Lee .451 with a bit of hot hand-held mold tolerance, (a mil or two) that might be just the right size....