• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

wads?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cheffy

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Ok remember I'm a little new at this so I've got tons of questions. I've got a Pietta .44 Army. got rid of those pellet loads that the guy at the shop recommended and bought some Goex. now I've used pre-made wads over it with good results. I've read somewhere here about making your own and I'm all for that. The question is What to soak/saturate them in? I've also read about using stuff like cornmeal/grits. is there any advantage except that you are not spending the time making wads?
thanks for all the help.

I soak my home made felt wads in a mix of Crisco and bees wax. Usually about a 50/50 mix is good for most environments. It works for me.

Here is one place to get wad matieral: http://www.durofelt.com/image_26.html . Look at the 1/8" Hard F-1. I bought a set of punches at Harbor Freight. As for lube, you can get creative. Bees wax and Crisco or olive oil or rendered animal fat. See what works best for you.

Last edited by a moderator: