• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Substitute caps

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I am a newbie to bp.i can't get #11 caps for my rifle a 45 caliber Italian made Hawkins style .is there any way to change it to a #10 cap?
Have you tried the #10s? Might be surprised. If they don’t fit the existing nipple, get a #10 nipple with correct threads (likely a 6-.75mm, but confirm) for your gun, or consider giving the existing nipple a haircut so the #10s fit.

Generally, #11's are easier to find. I'd trim the nipple down if you have #10's and order a nipple for #11's and 1075's so you can shoot either cap by changing nipples.

These days #10 caps are harder to come by than #11s. I would suggest putting yourself on MidwayUSA's, Graf & Sons and Powder Valley's "NOTIFY ME" list and jump when they come back in stock (they will...for short periods of time.) Also watch the Cabelas website. I scored big-time 2 years ago on #10s and 11s and they were all gone the next day.