• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Schuetzen and Swiss which one pan and barrel 50cal?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Asahi1234

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am very new at blackpowder. I am saving up for a flintlock rifle 50cal. I need help on f3g or 4fg for pan and f3g or 4fg for barrel? I just want to make sure I am order the correct powder for pan and barrel for patch and ball. Some humidity but not to often. So any guidance would be greatly appreciated. I

Like @Phil Coffins said, there's no pat answer. A .50 cal will perform well with either a 2F or 3F load. One or the other may perform better in your particular rifle. I prefer 4F for prime, but that's mainly because I have plenty of 4F. If you hunt in damp, humid conditions or you just don't have any 4F, then using the 2F or 3F that you load with will do fine. Years ago the rule of thumb was to use 3F for .50 or smaller and use 2F for .50 and larger. Now a days not so much. I personally use a 3F load in my .54 and sometimes in my .62.