• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

piedersoli 2nd mod bess kit from dixie gun works

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
They might tell you they are european walnut and rosewood but they look like neither. They look exactly like some sort of tropical hardwood.

I've been working with wood for over 35 years.

Removing stock pins is a sure way to break a stock in half or take a big splinter out of the stock. I've seen it done many times. I'd rather just live with the rust.

Mr. bessbattlesystem,
By perchance did you ship via UPS?
UPS really sticks it to us folks in Alaska. Don't know if it would help (your residing in Canada an all) but we always request shipping via USPS. Major savings for us, when dealing with DGW and others.
Best Wishes

The pins neededn't be removed unless you are refinishing the gun. I've just seen so many ruined longrifles and muskets, I hate to see others newbees make this mistake.

I understand what your saying but done properly its not a job to be scared of. Depending on what you use the gun for and how much water has got under the barrel since the last time it was overhauled, a check on rust once a year is IMO a reasonable thing to do. Having got the barrel out a gentle flame on the area covered by the stock followed by rubbing a stick of bees wax will help keep rust at bay.

Howdy!

Rookie question. On a Bess, other than the tang screw, what else needs to be removed to free the barrell from the stock?

Thanks!

James