• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

First Powder Horn

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shotgun232

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to BP and I am slowly building my kit. I have one rifle, a Cabelas Hawken percussion cap in 50 cal. I just started work on my shooting bag, which will be made out of some brain tan deer that I made from last seasons deer. I also may add some beaver felt for effect. :eek:ff
I am wondering what I should do for my powder horn, i.e. should I buy or make one. I would like to not spend more than $30 on the whole deal and from what I have seen most of the powder horn in that price range are roughly finished to say the least.
Also do the cork/wooden stopper fall out when in the field? it is my goal to hunt with this gear, in Northern MN.
Just would like some ideas on what I should do for those of you who have made your own, buy or make?
Thanks,
Mike

Dixie and TOW both have good serviceable horns for very reasonable prices. You might consider buying one and using it until you get time and then carve or scrimshaw designs on it.

Geo. T.