• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Bullet Lube?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dalton

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I have been using pre-lubed round ball patches for a couple of years now but would like to try making my own. I have access to some pillow ticking but was wondering if anyone had any home grown recipes for a lube to soak them in? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Dalton I cut my own patches for pillow tick I buy at the local Wal-Mart. My favorite liquid lube is;

Liquid Lube
16 oz. water (non-chlorinated)
8 oz. isopropyl alcohol, 91%
4 oz. witch hazel
3 oz. castor oil
1 oz. Murphy's Oil Soap

This is I think Stumpkiller's reciepe and it is a dandy. I used to make the same thing but used NAPA Water Soluable Cutting Oil instead of castors oil and I never added witch hazel. I have made this stuff and it really works good in my roundball rifles.

Stumpkiller's Moose Snot reciepe is another excellent one. I use that on the maxi balls and once in a while as a patch lube but I really like the liquid instead.