• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Armi San Marcos

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JKinsella

32 Cal
Reaction score
Well, I’m just getting into the bp shooting hobby from CW re-enacting (71st PVI).
I bought a used ASM1860 Colt Army at a local gun shop for $250 as my first revolver, because I thought it was a good deal compared to a new Pietta or Uberti. And it looked real good. And it was the 1st bp revolver I ever picked up. Love at first sight, I guess…
THEN, did my research on ASM, DUH.
My question: What has been your experience or thoughts about ASM?
Thank you…

Its really about condition not reputation. If the timing is good, good barrel then at the least its fun to shoot.

I don't have an ASM, I was given an ASP (76 date) and while it had a timing issue I fixed, its a very nice slick functioning gun. I have not achieved any real accuracy with it but I have had fun and its lead to 3 other BP buys. The timing was annoying as it was half cock.

Really important/critical is lock up being in line with the barrel on full cock.