• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

A Question for the Black Powder Maniac

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks for that Ettery. When I started shooting my new Traditions it was extremely tight with .015 patch/.490 ball. When I joined the forum to learn more and find out if this tightness was normal, even though I never complained about accuracy at all, a whole flock of members advised me to use a thicker patch. ???? I think L Dave advised polishing the bore w the finest steel wool and polishing the crown with some 400 emory cloth. Gamechanger for loading ! I watched Black Powder Maniac shooting and thought it would sure be nice to not need a short starter. Then, recently I took my 13 year old grandson out to get him started. I had purchased some lubed, .010 patches and he used those and hit darn near every can and jug we set up at 40 yards. Last, I had him put a group on paper at the same distance and he shot a 3 shot, inch and a half group. He could start the ball with his thumb and go straight to the ramrod if he wanted to. I will probably save the .015's for hunting but not for plinking. I was having a really hard time imagining being in a war w a short starter added