• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.40 Percussion Pistol

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zonie

Moderator Emeritus In Remembrance
MLF Supporter
Reaction score
I thought it was done, but I was wrrrrrroooo...wrrrroooo...wrrrrrrooooonn..mistaken.

This is the pistol I've been working on for a few months. Some of you have seen it when it looked more like a big block of wood with a barrel sticking out of it, and many of you have seen later stages of it.
CASE1.jpg

As I said, I finished it dark but the curl shows thru.
This is a .40 caliber Rayl barrel with a small Siler lock on a Curly Maple stock.

I shot the target today with a .395 ball patched with .012 pre lubed patching. The powder charge was 24 grains of Swiss FFFg, the caps were RWS.

After 4 shots at 15 yards, with me squinting at the target the guy next to me says "Dam nice shooting!" I said "where are they hitting?" He said "All in the Black!" I look again and sure enough, 4 shots in the black.
I then admitted I was shooting at the top target.
Yup, it was 11 inches between bulls eyes and it was shooting exactly 11 inches low. :(
I ended up firing a total of 7 shots, all of them from the bench with my hand resting on a padded block.

I used the rear tang screw slot, which is just visible at the rear of the barrel for a rear sight, figuring that the recoil would bring up the muzzle before the ball had left the barrel. I guess it did some, but obviously not enough.

Oh well, I was looking for something to do. :)