• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Traditions Crockett

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Micah Clark

45 Cal.
Reaction score
Friends,

I am new and have read a lot about this on the forum, but thought I'd ask this anyway of any traditions Crocket 32 rifle owners.
I am somewhat new to ML, but have shot 100 rounds through a used Crocket rifle, (which I really like). Mostly I have used Hornady .310 rb's. . but have some .311 and shot them too.

Still, I cannot seem to get the rifle to group consistently small enough to even begin to consider hunting with it. I sometimes get two somewhat close then a third inevitably is a flyer.

always off a bench, I have done the following:
Goex 3 F - 310 and .10 ox yoke wonder lube patch at 15, 17, 20 25 grains.
Goex 3F .310 ball, 15 Ox Yoke Wonder lube, 15, 17, 20, 25 grains
Goex 3F 310 ball pillow ticking .18 that I soaked in bore butter. . . and 15, 17, 20, 25 and even 30 grains. I also began using felt wads in this load between the patch & powder. .. and have used a 311 ball with this combo.
I am swabbing with cotton swabs after every shot, sometimes dampened with TC 13 bore cleaner (in the white & yellow bottle). . . and have even run dry swabs down the bore after loading.
My latest 310 or 311, pillow-ticking and 25-30 grains seems a little better.
I purchased Hoppes patch & cleaner and am considering using it as a patch lube next in place of bore butter on pillow ticking.
I am shooting at 25 yrds.