• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hunting in wet nasty brushy country

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Greetings,

I'm new to side locks but have killed a lot of deer and elk. I tend to hunt the jungle of north Idaho and that comes with lots of rain and constant brush crawling.

I've had wet powder on well protected inlines and am trying to plan my attack to use my new hawken under similar circumstances.
I'm aware of cows knees. I am curious what the guys who hunt rain forest type environments are doing to make the shots go off.

I will be using musket caps and considered beeswax or similar around the cap before covering the lock.

A separate question, how often do you tear down the lock and clean/dry the action/trigger?

Thanks in advance,

Greg

I’m not in a rainforest environment, but East Tennessee woods are thick around here. I’ve hunted in a heavy downpour and my gun still went off. All I did was make sure to keep the muzzle pointed down and the lock in my armpit for protection. I hate hunting in the rain, but you gotta do what you gotta do sometimes!