• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Horn straps...

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bwhoffman

62 Cal.
Reaction score
going to card weave some horn straps,
What does the general concensus feel is the "best" width? I'm thinking 5/8" +/-
but would like to hear your thoughts!

1 1/4" minimum for me.

HornStrap.jpg

I usually make them 1" on the inkle loom. I've found that 45 wraps of # 3 crochet cotton will equal 1" of finished strap width.
Soggy

I am pretty much a rank beginner here but I have been thinking about the same thing lately. It seem that most of the early depictions of people wearing horns that have their own strap shows a very thin strap sometimes looking like lacing. That being said, it seems (from my research)that more were attached to the bag strap by extentions or additions to the bag strap. This arrangement would certainly be less tangleing and easier to put off and on.
At this point it seems to me that a strap too narrow would be annoying and one too wide would get in the way.
The answer is no, I have not carried a full horn all day but I'm headed that way quick. Time will tell. :grin:

Interesting point Braintan. I tried putting my horns on their own straps, but in the woods they made me nuts. Tangling and snarling in brush, wandering all over the place on my body when the going got rough. Often tangling with the bag strap and really constipating a quick load.

All three of my horns are now on my bags, and that works great. Eliminated all the problems.