• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

French Grey finish ?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm still new to these cold browning solutions , ive used Birchwood Casey for every build but these last two BUT ....with B.W.C. a French grey is easy to achieve as what ever you hot brown with that solution the next day its grey ....then you keep adding more solution and heat to go to brown stage so ....my question ..... Can French Grey finish be achieved with Mountain Laurel or .....he// , what's that other one called ? Can't remember right now ... Homer Dangler ! ......Well , I can't use heat for B.W.C. because I have non removable inlet metal parts in the stock otherwise I'd just use B.W.Casey again ....but not possible with this build . I think a French Grey look would look really good .... Any who ....thanks for any input