• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Swagged or Cast

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

50cal.cliff

58 Cal.
Reaction score
I am still new to this game and I keep hearin about this subject, but don't see alot on it! Well I guess I am showin my ignorance, but I always heard the only dumb question was the one you didn't ask!
I understand what a poured bullet/ball is, but what does swagged mean? :confused:
I am also seeing some talk about the difference in acccurarcy of the two. Any one want to take a shot at this one. No Pun intended. :rotf: :rotf:

Poured or cast is just that. Swagged is made by cutting a lead wire or plug and then putting it in a die and pressing it into shape under great pressure. This is supposed to elimate any air pockets or voids and they usually come out closeer to round that cast balls. Cast balls have a sprue and may have voids or be slightly out of round.
As for accuracy I don't think you can tell the difference in good cast balls and swagged balls for the type of shooting most of us do. The Bench Rest boys probably can.
For the difference in price I would go with good case bullets. I do my own and have never worried about their accuracy.