• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Pyrodex vs. Black Power & Law

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sotxnoah

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I’m new to black powder arms and have been reading a lot but wondering what takes others might have on this issue.
In Texas and federal law re: black powder arms the laws dont specify what these arms can or can’t be used for. However, when reading federal law it states black powder can be purchased in qty of <50 lbs “intended to be used solely for sporting, recreational, or cultural purposes in antique firearms.” What I’m wondering is -
Does Pyrodex fall under “explosives”?
Also what do y’all think about self-defense falling under the category of “cultural”? (Considering the US, and Texas specifically, do have a long tradition of regarding self-defense as a right.) They might not get someone on using a black powder arm for self defense based on a strict reading, but it sounds like the law could be used to interpret that the powder was not used consistent with one of the intended purposes as written above.