• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Percussion to Flinter

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

utahhntnful

32 Cal.
Reaction score
Newbie here! Is it possible to change a percussion to a Flinter.
I know the locks are different !
What else would have to be done ?
Rare Hare Brown

utahhntnful said:
Newbie here! Is it possible to change a percussion to a Flinter.
I know the locks are different !
What else would have to be done ?
Rare Hare Brown
You might want to take a look at my recent post - "child's Flinter" in this section. I posed the same question and got lots of good answers. Welcome to the site, I'm new as well.

If you have a rifle with drum and nipple system it is a simple task if you can find a flintlock to fit the lock mortise.

If it isn't a drum type, you will need the service of a muzzle loader gunsmith. Depending on the gun you are wanting to convert, it may not be practical money wise. Or you will need another barrel besides the need for a lock that fits the mortise.
What gun are you contemplating converting?

Yes, it is possible and can be rather simple. Do you have a specific rifle in mind?

If it is a T.C. you can change out the breach plug and lock but on the other hand it may not index properly when tightened down. I don't know if TC offers this service or not.

What type of gun are you thinking of converting ?