• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Hello All from Michigan

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

carolina cowboy

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi Guys
I am a newbie to both this forum and Black powder shooting as well....I am in the process of commissioning both a flintlock rifle and a pistol in 45 caliber so I can start enjoying the black powder discipline at my home club as well as other clubs nearby :thumbsup: . I currently shoot cowboy action :hatsoff: and have been around guns my entire life...including the military.....I had a percussion rifle (Dixie Gun Works) way back in the late 60’s and loved it, but I want to get into Flintlocks now, for some reason those guns seem to just draw me to them :wink: ...I am left handed and will buy my guns with the Lock On the Correct (Left) side :blah: .....I will have a million questions as I know NOTHING about this sport, but have been wanting to get into it for awhile now, just had to wait until I paid off all my cowboy guns.........can someone direct me to some books that will help me with the equipment I will need to become a black powder shooter and maybe attend a few rendezvous....thanks ahead of time :hatsoff: ......