• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Goex, I've Gone Full Circle

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Landngroove

45 Cal.
Reaction score
When I started shooting muzzleloaders, I used Goex black powder. After a while, I wanted to try a powder that burned "cleaner". I then switched to using Pyrodex, for the next few years. I could live with the hangfire, because I could load more shots without wiping the bore, in my percussions, and put a small kicker charge of bp, in for my flinters. Well Cleanshot (American Pioneer Powder) came out. Wow! this stuff burns real clean, and ignites better in my percussions. (still need kicker charge of bp in flinters). I could live with what seemed like less velocity, volume for volume, than bp, and the fact that I was not really comfortable using it hunting. Next came Pinnacle. Seems like same qualities of A.P.P., in my percussions, still need kicker charge of bp in flinters. Well after these powders are gone from my supply, there will be no more subs. I have gone back to the beginning, shooting real goex black powder, in all my ml's. I actually have been shooting only Goex bp in my flinters for a year, now. No more hangfire, good velocity, consis