• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

what should i get?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

schlarmanm1

32 Cal.
Reaction score
While i'm not new to guns/shooting. I am new to black powder and more importantly flint lock rifles. I recently put together a KY long rifle kit that is mainly going to be man cave decor, however i do plan to shoot it and maybe hunt with it. My question is what all should i get. What i mean is what patches, powder, lube, pan primers, powder measures, horns/flasks, and even field tools at the best reasonable price? Now I dont want junk but i dont want to over pay and i dont need the top dollar items either. I dont need the best of the best, as i wont shoot or even hunt with this rifle much. Any help would be appreciated

Thanks
Michael.

Howdy first off real black for flinlock
For suppplies plenty of vendors or online auctions look around buy what fits oh dont forget the ads here
Do it simple all you need is flints powder a cleaning jag and cleaning patchs and balls if the bug takes then skys the limit

Lyman's GPR is a fine rifle for the money. Shopping the for sell area here and sites like Gun Broker can save you money. Geo. T.

I think he said he already has a rifle so getting down to the nitty gritty here's my suggestion.

As buzz said, not a whole lot is actually required to shoot and take care of a flintlock.
I don't see the caliber of the gun listed so the first thing is ball size.