• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What do I do when the custom gunbuilder sends me garbage?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hmmm I've got an interesting challenge. Essentially I'm a long-term novice blackpowder shooter. I ordered a Baltic cheekstock flintlock from a reputable custom builder, for $1,800. I waited years, and paid in full when he informed me that the gun was ready. The gun finally arrived, covered in rust which is obviously from some sort of treatment. it was so rusty it was fuzzy. I didn't know what else to do so I placed it in a climate-controlled gunsafe and pondered my next action. Just now, a few months later, I took it out and the metal parts are flaking black powder which is falling all over the kitchen. It's absolutely unshootable now,and there is obviously some sort of chemical reaction taking place in the metal parts. All metal parts are fully engulfed in some sort of chemical rust. What do I do now? I'm thinking of small claims court. Buying used is vastly better than this: at least it's shootable!

He'll tell you it was browned (and maybe Aqua Fortis'd the wood) and you failed to maintain it after receiving it from that point. How's the BORE?

You really should have photographed it and spoken to the builder right away. Now I doubt you have much recourse. Why did you leave it in your safe for so long?