• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Starting with a blank, need guidance

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tennessee.45

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I got my stock blank and have the stock shape and drop traced on the stock, where do I go from there?

I'm kinda nervous as this is my first build using a blank, all the others were with a precarve

Cut out your profile, leaving an extra 1/16" all around.

Inlet the barrel, breech, lock, trigger, buttplate, triggerguard, pipes, in that order.
The barrel will give you location for the lock, the lock for the trigger, the trigger for the buttplate and triggerguard.
Hope that helps.

Gunsmith of Grenville county. buy it. save yourself a lot of doing stuff out of order. I think it`s $35 USD from track

In Ice carving I was taught to "Carve away everything that doesn't look like a Swan" same premise. :v

I'm new here, but 2nd the Grenville book.

You will need a ramrod drill too.

A long straight edge, a small square, in letting black, a 3/8 round file for a 3/8ths ramrod.

I think you might be better off using a straight barrel. I built a 36 inch 45 cal 13/16ths. However, I bought a 42 inch and cut it down to 36 because it felt too front heavy. That little 6 inch extra piece was sure handy.

why would he need a straight barrel??
ease of inletting??????

Swamped barrels have way better balance the longer they are.

here's a 42 Virginia barrel in 58 cal from Rice.......on the range....great balance swamped.