• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

New to traditional muzzleloaders. Questions on loading

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jnye56

32 Cal
Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to the tradition shooting world. A few years back I built my first percussion cap rifle, the Traditions Hawkens rifle. I have never shot it, let alone load it. Now being new, it’s easy enough to read a book and know what size hall or patch I need but I’d like to understand things a little more. The difference between powders etc. It is a little overwhelming getting into this world. I know there are many accessories that are helpful to have on top of the basics.

Would anyone be willing to share where the best place to purchase balls, patches, powders and what else I should get as a beginner? Ball starter, powder measures, and what not.
The goal is to use the rifle to hunt whitetail deer so whatever else might be handy in the woods to have as well.

I also have a flintlock that was given to me by a friend, a long barrel (I have to look for the model but might be a Kentucky rifle). Same questions as far as that rifle may go although I know this is a percussion forum.