• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Need some better sights

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MH WASH

32 Cal.
Reaction score
I would like to replace the factory sights on my Traditions Hawken. I plan on hunting deer this fall with my muzzleloader and my current sights just dont cut it. I am more concerned with accuracy than authentics. The Lyman hunter sight set has caught my attention. My rifle was purchased in 1994 if that helps.

I am new to the sight and plan on learning alot.

The Williams Firesight is a fibre optic sight(Front and back)That are made to fit many differant types of muzzleloaders.I installed a set on one of my Thompson Center muzzleloaders that I use only for deer hunting.They are great in low light situations.
I found the ad for mine in a Muzzleloading magazine but I'm sure if you search for them on Google you'll come up with the info.

The Lyman Hunter set should have bases for .360" dovetails, which will fit your Traditions. If the bases happen to be bigger (my never-reliable memory tells me there's also a version of the Hunter set with .375" -- 3/8" -- bases), you'll need to file the dovetails in the barrel a hair larger or the bases of the sights a hair smaller. Either way, no big deal -- it's only if you buy .360"-based sights for 3/8" dovetails that the wailing and gnashing of teeth occurs.