• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

MVTC musket using shot, results

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tiger13

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I took advantage of a beautiful Sunday to try my hand at shooting my India pattern Bess that I bought from MVTC a few years ago to replace a similar musket that was stolen in a break in. This day I tried something that I have never done before and that was I tried using it as a shotgun, or fowler. The only thing I had to use was copper washed BB's, and I don't want to make a habit of it, I decided to give it a go. I measured out, and shot a variety loads, but started with 50 grains of 2F Goex, with a toilet tissue wad, then 1 1/2 oz of shot,and got good results at 50 feet, and shot again at 90 feet but the results were not very good. I next upped the shot to 1 3/4 oz and moved back to 90 feet, and it was better, but not by much. I upped the charge to 60 grains and it improved but was still light on the hits. This final target is with 60 grains of 2F Goex and 2 1/2 oz of shot at 90 feet with the 3rd model Brown Bess 39 inch barrel Total shots for the day were 30 and I had 1 misfire from a dirty flint. All the wadding and over wadding was just with toilet paper, as I said I had never fired shot from this musket before

Air rifle BBs have no place as firearms projectiles. There is a good chance you have scored your barrel.