• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Moose Snot or Moose Spit?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to the black powder side of muzzleloaders. I purchased a TC Hawken 50 cal. I shoot .490 with .015 pillow ticking using Stumpy's moose Snot for lube. I am wondering what are the origins of why it is called moose snot or moose spit? Did someone shoot a moose and decide to use moose drool for his patches and from then on it became folklore. Any humorous or sarcastic info would be appreciated.

Stumpkiller, a member and moderator here invented the formula. I expect he named it on a whim, he not being without a sense of humor.

I am new to the black powder side of muzzleloaders. I purchased a TC Hawken 50 cal. I shoot .490 with .015 pillow ticking using Stumpy's moose Snot for lube. I am wondering what are the origins of why it is called moose snot or moose spit? Did someone shoot a moose and decide to use moose drool for his patches and from then on it became folklore. Any humorous or sarcastic info would be appreciated.