• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Lube - Hardness of Lead Bullets

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been reloading for 50 years, but am new to the BP (revolvers) and can't settle the lead hardness and lube aspect.

I am currently shooting two New Model Army types (one a 1976 and the other current). I have shot Hornady Lead balls and unknown make lead balls. I also have been shooting some JD bullets (bought not made). I have zero lead built up and while not intentional, I had one load get up to 1200 fps (Pyrodex 30 gr pellet).

I have shot 9mm with a cast bullet that had a synthetic lube, those were going out at 1200 fps as I recall. No issues so the lead hardness and the synthetic lube worked there but not sure the lube was needed.

I have been using lubed wads and have not been able to discern any difference in fouling but they don't hurt anything and are cheap enough to not be an issue (I have not tried them on top of the Pyrodex Pellets as I pre load those cylinders in the Pietta NMA and figure they might affect the pellet)