• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Cider making questions

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

16gauge

40 Cal.
Reaction score
Hi all;
Read an interesting article in The Backwoodsmanmagazine about making your own cider. I've never done it before, but I would like to try it. Has anyone out there made their own (hard) cider? If so, could you answer the following questions, please.

1.) Which type of apples MacIntosh, Gram Spys, ect) have you found to make the best cider?

2.) Which yeast have you found to produce the best flavor?

3.) How much liquid can I expect to get (roughly) from a bushell of apples?

Thanks in advance.

16gauge said:
Hi all;
Read an interesting article in The Backwoodsmanmagazine about making your own cider. I've never done it before, but I would like to try it. Has anyone out there made their own (hard) cider? If so, could you answer the following questions, please.

1.) Which type of apples MacIntosh, Gram Spys, ect) have you found to make the best cider?

2.) Which yeast have you found to produce the best flavor?

3.) How much liquid can I expect to get (roughly) from a bushell of apples?

Thanks in advance.

A mix of various apples usually gives the best tasting cider.

You can use the natural yeast and allow the apples to ferment, I use champagne yeast.

The amount of juice will vary somewhat with the type and ripeness of apple used. You can increase yield by treating the mash/grind with pectinase enzyme before pressing.