• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

.36 cal balls in .375 and .380

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all.. I'm just getting started with percussion arms and I have a new Pietta 1851 Navy London that i'm rounding up components for. I have been reading alot about percussion revolvers and their care and feeding and I noted that for the .36 cal, most folks seem to recognize the ball diameter to use as .375. Then today as I was looking for caps, (thats an exercise in futility), I ran across a supplier that offered .375 and .380 balls. Aside from the obvious .005 difference is there a circumstance where the .380 would be recommended over the .375 ?

Can't imagine lead balls wearing out cylinder bores or barrels. I suppose maybe some manufacturers are not holding tolerances, but even that seems a bit of a stretch in this day and age, even on a inexpensive but well known replica manufacturer??? What am I overlooking?

Thx
gibby