• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Yup... I finally did it

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NDHunter

32 Cal
Reaction score
I finally had a stuck ball. I've been shooting muzzleloaders for roughly 13 years but got my first flintlock about a year ago. I went to the range today to try and get it sighted in now that I worked up a load. The last shot I tried to take wouldn't ignite. Of course I forgot my screw driver so I couldn't pull the vent liner to put powder behind it. I packed up and went home where I put the air compressor to it and of course nothing. I then went to the ball puller and of course it pulled out. Now I have a hole through my ball and can't use the air compressor method. Would the powder behind the vent liner trick still work with a hole through the ball? I know I'm an idiot but any help would be appreciated.

I think it did. Air hisses through when I put the air compressor to it and it didn't budge one bit when I tried pulling it so I don't think its getting around the ball. I am going to have to try to shoot it out regardless.

Last edited:
Update:

The ball did have a hole through it from the ball puller. The fire shot right through the hole and didn't move the ball at all. Luckily I'm a hoarder and had an older ball puller that was thicker and was able to get a good bite on it and walk it out. On the downside my rifle took a tumble and the Buckhorn bent. I was able to get it into usable condition but I'll have to order a new one. Thanks for your suggestions guys!

Attachments

• 20230102_184542.jpg
    20230102_184542.jpg
    1,001.6 KB · Views: 0