• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Your Basic Rookie Mistake

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JiminTexas

40 Cal.
Reaction score
I'm new at this front loading business and I order a powder horn. I'll need a powder horn right? O.K. I go through the web sites and find one that advertises an "economy model". Hey! Now that's just my cup of tea. I'm not only compulsive, but I'm cheap too. This will fit me to a "Tee". It come in and I look it over and, Dang!, it's nice! I love it! Now all that I have to do is fill it with powder and start shooting, right? WRONG! I go down and get a pound of Goex FFFg and pour it into the horn. It has one of those fancy shmancy push button feeds that you can put different size measureing tubes on. Hey that's REALL NEAT!!! I fill it up. I turn it over and put my finger over the end of the measure and push the button. I shake it a little to be sure that the powder flows in and I turn it up, take my finger off of the end an look inside. NOTHING! Not a single grain of powder! I unscrew measuring tube and look it over really good and guess what. There is something blocking the exit hole. No big deal. I'll just dig it out. I get it out and try again. Nothing. I look and sure enough there is another piece of something blocking the hole. After several tries I finally figure out that this horn was put together without the scrapings and drillings from the manufacture of it having been cleaned out of it. Now the horn is sealed. It is glued, nailed, sealed and you couldn't get into it with a cutting torch. two hours latter I finally get all of the crud ou