• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Yet another lube question.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Re: roundball patch lube.
Now this is a very special post as you are going to see me admit something.
I'm a newbie to roundball shooting! :redface:
Oh yeh, I've been into muzzle loading a looooooong time, 30 years anyway, but only in the last few years have I teken this thing seriously. I'm completely hooked now, only black powder will do, and some of you people have completely corrupted me! :haha: Not only have I switched from bullets to rounballs, I'm even shooting them funny looking guns that use rocks to fire the charge!
Now for the question. I intend to hunt deer this winter with my Jeager .58 flinter and the patched roundball. What lube would work for the patch that won't corrupt the powder charge during an all day hunt?
I currently use beeswax, canola oil, and Crisco mix.
Last year I had the happy occasion to hunt mountain deer in Tennessee, got a shot too with the Lyman GPR flinter. Yup, 35 yards, spike buck broadside, hammer back, aim, click psssst, awe shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!
Laughed myself silly. :haha: Only shot I got all year too.

before i get into anything like makeing my own i'll just stick with T/C bore butter worked last winter for me........................bob

Your homemade lube mix sounds a little soft.. especially in a sorta-warm climate place like Tennessee. You can try placing a batch of Lehigh Valley or Ballistol lubed patches outside on an old door/windown screen to dry out some -- then pack em' in a sandwich bag.