• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Working with Cow Bone

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RP3543

36 Cal.
Reaction score
Hello All!
I'm new to horn/flask making so bear with me...
Several years ago I started working on a powder flask that was to made out of a section of cow femur the dog was kind enough to loan me. I cut it to length, boiled it for about 30 min's, and did some sanding and fitting of end plugs. I had to stop so I packed it away, intending to pick it up again when I had some time. Well, three years later, I have some time so I dug it out and guess what? The bone section was nicely aged but was very greasy! Does anyone out there have any idea what the proper technique would be to De-Grease cow bone prior to building something? I plan on sealing it after I do some carving, is this going to be adequate or will it continue to weep grease forever and ever?
Any suggestions or insight you can offer will be appreciated.
TX
Bob