• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Wire inlay tools

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigShow

32 Cal
Reaction score
I am new to the forum and know nothing of building muzzleloaders. I am also no expert on wire inlay. So I am not claiming this is the best way to do it, this is just the tools I have made to do it. Firstly I got a few xacto knives and cut them down, maybe by half but it’s whatever feels good to you. Then I used my drill press to bore a hole in some golf balls. You could turn handles or use a dowel, whatever works for you. I epoxied the xacto handles into the golf ball holes. The secret, if there is one, is to save your used up blades, then use a grinder like on a rotary tool to get the shape that fits what you are doing. You must be careful not to overheat the blades and loose the temper. I shape some wider ones (size is relative) for straights and the tighter the curve the narrow the blade is needed.
3710BA2A-412D-450E-A358-E5C68EE67F20.jpeg
C18FEE2E-FA66-4C47-AC3A-D0A43E066EE3.jpeg