• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

Who Made this weapon??

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to all of this but here goes. My father-in law gave me this musket. He is 97 and does not remember where it came from. I have searched as much as I can and I'm turning to you guys for some help. Based on what I have been able to find after scouring the internet... some things seem to indicate that it may be a Leman Indian Contract gun. Unfortunately there is nothing on the barrel or lock that would confirm this. The barrel is 30 3/4" long. The overall length from butt of stock to end of barrel is 47 1/2". It is a full stock. It is 50 caliber. It has a smoothe bore, octagonal barrel, From flat to flat on the end of the barrel it measures 7/8" across. There are three marks that I can find on the weapon: There is a P or a B stamped on the inside of the lock, There are what appears to be two capital A's stamped on the bottom of the barrel at the butt end and the Letters A.F. stamped in the stock at the end of the trigger guard. There is a considerable amount of rust on the sides of the barrel as it rests in the stock. Perhaps some marking are obscured there. Why do I think it may be a Leman? The cheek rest seems to match some photos of Lemans, the "pin" type construction appears to match, the brass fittings seem to match. The lock shape seems to match. Leman offered this size barrel or rather a 30" barrel in 50 caliber with a smooth or rifled bore. The musket is missing the rear sight, a brass guide for the ramrod and a brass piece at the end of the barrel and st