• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What is a good hunting photo?

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've been hunting big game for over 40 years, taken a lot of photos, and most all of them were of little value. I think composition is the hard part to get right. Time must be taken to find the right spot that not only does decent to the kill but lets the viewer in on the terrain. The last few years I've put more effort into it just trying to get a couple of decent ones. I'm not sure how successful I've been.
SS850183.jpg

SS850061.jpg

I was wearing camo and didn't want rocks thrown at me. I made the gun with one of the first GM 1" - 28" twist barrels. They quit making those barrels. I purchased two barrels and sold the other hawken I made. They were tack drivers. I shot this deer on the south Utah border. Very close to the Gunsmoke movie set.

t
Hawken - 28 twist.JPG

I like the ones that show the bow or gun used. I usually take the pictures where the animal ended up, if possible.
A lot of the time I’m in a rush to get the animal gutted and skinned/hung. This means my pictures are usually rushed