• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

What’s your favorite BP substitute.

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I started shooting muzzle loaders in 1977. In that time I've used them all and have definite opinions about them. I currently use black powder and I will continue to do so until I can't get it anymore. I'm currently working off a can of DuPont 2F from the 60's. Be cause it still burns like it was brad new, and you can't say that about the subs!

Triple 7 is the only sub I will ever consider using again. It works well, cleans up fine, and has a longer shelf life once opened than the others.

Pyrodex should only be used to start bonfires. If you have a can of it, give it to someone you don't like.

The rest - can not be trusted if they've been open for any significant length of time. I've had more misfire and hangfires with these so-called propellants than I ever had with black or T7. When they cost me a number of deer, I switched back to 2F balck powder and left the ignition problems behind me.

Pyrodex should only be used to start bonfires. If you have a can of it, give it to someone you don't like.