• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Wad thickness

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eutycus

Cannon
Reaction score
I'm fairly new at cap and ball revolver shooting, so new in fact I havent done any yet.I was just about to give it a try when I remembered that I didnt have any wads on hand. So I'm in the process of making some.I have an old felt hat and a 7/16 hollow punch from Harbor Freight.The wads are punched out and will be lubed tomorrow. Now I have a question or two. I've noticed the wads are thinner than the Duro Felt that is usually used. Probably by about half. Will this make any differance? And how long after a person lubes the wads must he wait till they are used? Do they need time to "dry" or "cure"?