• This community needs YOUR help today. We rely 100% on Supporting Memberships to fund our efforts. With the ever increasing fees of everything, we need help. We need more Supporting Members, today. Please invest back into this community. I will ship a few decals too in addition to all the account perks you get.

• Friends, our 2nd Amendment rights are always under attack and the NRA has been a constant for decades in helping fight that fight.

We have partnered with the NRA to offer you a discount on membership and Muzzleloading Forum gets a small percentage too of each membership, so you are supporting both the NRA and us.

Use this link to sign up please; https://membership.nra.org/recruiters/join/XR045103

Using your thumb as a rear site

Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So a while back when I started shooting a BP gun without a rear site I talked to this old timer about how to get more consistent with shooting my smooth bore he told me to put my thumb on the top of my barrel with my left hand (I’m a right handed shooter) and this will help with my elevation once I know about what the gap is. I did this to shoot my first deer and it definitely worked even though I didn’t hit were I was aiming hahaha but a clean kill all the same! Anyone else do this with much success??

So a while back when I started shooting a BP gun without a rear site I talked to this old timer about how to get more consistent with shooting my smooth bore he told me to put my thumb on the top of my barrel with my left hand (I’m a right handed shooter) and this will help with my elevation once I know about what the gap is. I did this to shoot my first deer and it definitely worked even though I didn’t hit were I was aiming hahaha but a clean kill all the same! Anyone else do this with much success??